Occasionally you may see pop ups on your computer advising you to update/upgrade a piece of software. These can sometimes be confusing and may not be immediately obvious as to which application the update is referring too or if it’s safe to proceed.
If you’re unsure, it’s always best not to perform the update as it could be an attempt to install malicious software on your computer. This is most common with antivirus/malware/spyware related updates.
For example, pop ups relating to “virus/malware/adware/spyware infection” “registry scan” “computer fix” are usually all malicious. Business grade antivirus applications, and even a lot of consumer ones, will update themselves automatically without needing user input.
A common pop up you may have already seen is a Java update, seen below:
This indicates a update is available for your Java application which is used by a lot of websites and is safe to install.
Additionally, you may see Adobe Reader updates (see below) - these are also safe to install.
For any other updates, especially if you aren’t sure, please contact Myrtec Support (email@example.com)